spotlight

The relentless pace of the coronavirus pandemic has challenged hospital and health care workers across the Valley and the country. Long days are spent caring for COVID and non-COVID patients. The stress of managing personal lives while balancing family needs and commitments adds yet another …

Submit a Letter to the Editor

If you're interested in submitting a Letter to the Editor, click here.

Thursday, August 06, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020

When it comes to bad years, it’s pretty tough to top 1347. That was the year the Black Death kicked into overdrive, contaminating major cities in Europe and Asia. Ultimately, that epidemic killed more than 50 million people over the next few years.

Thursday, July 23, 2020

Nearly half a million Arizonans are living with Alzheimer’s or caring for a loved one with the disease. Prior to COVID-19, our state was grappling with how to prepare for an astounding 33% increase over the next five years in the population impacted by all dementias.  

Friday, July 10, 2020

The family of law enforcement officers pray every day that their husband, wife, mother or father will come home safely after each shift. They bear the personal burden of sacrifice so the call to serve and protect can be answered. While the officer is vigilant to serve, the family members pra…

Thursday, July 02, 2020
Wednesday, July 01, 2020
Saturday, June 27, 2020

I understand there is a lot of frustration regarding the proclamation on the use of face coverings in Peoria. It is an issue that I did not take lightly.

Thursday, June 18, 2020

There was a beauty to the games, something artistic that maybe I cannot convey in words: The thud of the ball against the gym floor; the riotous squeaks and squeals of hightops on lacquered hardwood; the dim light, the frayed nets hanging from the rims. 

Thursday, June 11, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Thursday, June 04, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020

Every crisis has new heroes. During the 9/11 attacks, they were the first responders running into burning and crumbling buildings as others ran out. Now, during the coronavirus pandemic, the most visible heroes are the health care professionals who are saving others and risking their own liv…

Thursday, May 21, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020

As of this writing, COVID-19, a highly infectious and pernicious respiratory disease caused by the novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2), is the leading cause of death in the U.S.  It is disconcerting and perplexing to millions of Americans that the deadly SARS-CoV-2 pathogen once unfamiliar to hum…

Thursday, April 30, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020

For many Arizonans, April has been a lost month. Little to no work has been available, our normal forms of recreation became a thing of the past, economic worries came to the forefront.

Thursday, April 16, 2020

The mission of the Arizona  Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Division is to get Arizona out of line and safely on the road, and over the past several years we’ve made great strides doing that. 

Thursday, April 09, 2020

Gov. Doug Ducey ordered that constables not enforce writs of restitution (residential eviction orders) if the tenant is quarantined or if the tenant suffered a substantial loss of income due to COVID-19. 

Monday, April 06, 2020

Since older Americans are particularly vulnerable to coronavirus (COVID-19), I wanted to let you know the steps we’re taking to help our Medicare beneficiaries cope with the pandemic.

Thursday, April 02, 2020

Written in stone across the front of the Maricopa County Superior Courthouse is the statement, “The first duty of society is justice.” And while thousands of people pass under these words every day, few stop to think about how important these words are to our democracy.

Thursday, March 26, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020

The story of Sammy’s Mexican Grill and the Donald Trump haters should serve to remind us once again - in America, politics replaced the National Football League as our favorite concussive contact sport. 

Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020
Saturday, February 01, 2020
Saturday, January 18, 2020
Thursday, January 09, 2020

As the calendar prepared to from 2019 to 2020, protesters stormed the U.S. embassy in Baghdad.  As I write this, the action -- a response to U.S. airstrikes in Iraq and Syria which killed at least 25 and wounded more than 50 -- hasn’t yet become a reprise of the Iran hostage crisis of 40 yea…

Friday, January 03, 2020
Friday, December 27, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019

The Christmas season is my favorite time of the year, probably because of the traditions. Traditions such as Christmas music and colorful decorations make everything a little brighter I think it also makes people a little happier.

Discussion about education in Arizona often results in strongly stated opinions from widely varying perspectives. Although consensus seems lacking with regard to the path toward improvement, all parties seem to agree that public education needs improvement. Herein, Peoria’s oldest elementary…

Thursday, December 05, 2019
Sunday, December 01, 2019

As the weather cools and the season of giving upon us, many find ourselves reflecting on our blessings. We take a little bit more time to give thanks to the family and friends at our side, the jobs continuing to provide and the home granting warmth and space to rest alongside those we love most. 

Digital Editions