spotlight

Data from Maricopa County Planning and Development Department shows some encouraging signs for the nation’s fastest-growing county. Building permit submissions are up substantially year over year, with a greater percentage of these being completed online. 

Submit Your News

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Thursday, May 28, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020

“Risky Business” isn’t just the name of an ’80s Tom Cruise movie—it’s the unfortunate theme for many entrepreneurs, during and after the COVID-19 pandemic.

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Despite stay-at-home orders in Arizona, people across the Valley still need their functioning vehicles for essential business. In order to keep people moving to the places they need to go, auto shops are considered essential businesses and have remained open.

Sunday, May 17, 2020
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Arizona unemployment benefits will expand this month to cover workers who are not now eligible, to last longer than before and to pay more in weekly benefits to some jobless workers.

Thursday, May 07, 2020

Here at the Peoria Chamber, we are working tirelessly to support our membership and community. One way we are doing so is upon sign-up. For May only, we are including three extra months free on top of the regular one-year commitment. 

The Peoria Chamber of Commerce Business Association and all businesses in Peoria want to go back to work! In this unprecedented time, working in collaboration with the city of Peoria, ASU and the SBDC (Small Business Development Center), this “strike force” called or visited over 2,000 busin…

Laurie Ledgerwood became a board member for the Peoria Chamber of Commerce in 2019. Ledgerwood serves on the board’s finance committee and contributes her considerable skill set to the growth and excellence of the Peoria Chamber of Commerce.

Tuesday, May 05, 2020

Benevilla  is helping  the community with Birt’s Market, a one-stop shop for basic food and home essentials needed by seniors and the general public as they shelter at home during the uncertainties of this COVID19 pandemic.

Thursday, April 30, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 22, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Saturday, April 04, 2020

While lounging around in a restaurant and enjoying a meal with table service is no longer an option, many Peoria restaurants are still open for takeout and/or delivery.

Saturday, March 28, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020

Exactly six years after Sandy and David George opened Every Doggie has its DayCare, the husband and wife paired with the Peoria Chamber of Commerce on March 10 to cut a ceremonial ribbon and celebrate their successes. The canine daycare and boarding business is at 19209 N. 83rd Avenue, Suite…

Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020

Saying the state has more money than it needs, Republicans on a House panel voted last week to cut state taxes by nearly $162 million this coming budget year – and by an undetermined amount years down the road.

Saturday, February 29, 2020
Saturday, February 22, 2020
Thursday, February 13, 2020

A big project will change the face of Olive and 83rd avenues and is sailing along.

Saturday, February 08, 2020
Wednesday, February 05, 2020

The Joint Chiropractic at Arrowhead Towne Center is celebrating a grand reopening under new ownership, with a fully remodeled clinic at 7369 W. Bell Road, in the Arrowhead Palms Shopping Center.

Saturday, February 01, 2020
Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Is the massive, proposed development at Peoria’s P83 to be known as Stadium Point … or Stadium Pointe?

Thursday, January 16, 2020
Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Looks like Peoria is picking up in 2020 where 2019 left off: Growth, growth and more growth.

Thursday, January 09, 2020
Friday, January 03, 2020
Monday, December 30, 2019
Friday, December 27, 2019
Thursday, December 19, 2019
Saturday, December 14, 2019
Friday, December 13, 2019

The holidays are upon us. That magical time of year when family, food, charity and goodwill change us as individuals and communities. That moment in time where an extra traffic light, or  a long line, is just an opportunity to listen to Bing Crosby belt out the single best rendition of “Whit…

Thursday, December 05, 2019
Monday, December 02, 2019

For those planning to get stuffed on Thanksgiving, Mountainside Fitness offers a free workout from Turkey Day (or, for vegetarians, Tofurkey Day) through Sunday, Dec. 1.

Thursday, November 28, 2019
Thursday, November 21, 2019

National Entrepreneurs Day was celebrated this week. This is an unofficial American holiday that honors entrepreneurs “who are considered the foundation of the country.”

When Meng Truong and his wife Paulina emigrated to Arizona from Cambodia, they immediately noticed something missing: there were no prominent ethnic markets carring food or items making them feel like they were home.

Friday, November 15, 2019

It is sometimes a nuisance or inconvenience for a freelancer or entrepreneur to travel to local coffee shops, in the hopes of getting work completed, when seats are unavailable, or when the environment is too distracting and even when the Wi-Fi is occasionally spotty. But one Peoria entrepre…

Sunday, November 10, 2019
Thursday, October 31, 2019

Vistancia hosts a Music and Model Homes Showcase from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 2.

Thursday, October 24, 2019

Welcome, everyone, to another edition of Business Briefcase, where we address all the great happenings in the local business world — whether it be openings, closings, construction and development, ribbon-cutting ceremonies and expansions, chamber mixers and networking events or anything else…

Friday, October 11, 2019

Welcome, everyone, to another edition of Business Briefcase, where we address all the great happenings in the local business world — whether it be openings, closings, construction and development, ribbon-cutting ceremonies and expansions, chamber mixers and networking events or anything else.

Digital Editions