close up of man counting money and making notes

Rep. Debbie Lesko, a Republican who represents Peoria and parts of Glendale, Avondale and Litchfield Park, was named a 2019 Taxpayer Super Hero by conservative group the Council for Citizens Against Government Waste.

“So many of our taxpayer dollars are wasted each year by the federal government. I came to Congress to rein in that spending and I will continue to do so as long as I’m in office,” Lesko said.

The Council for Citizens Against Government Waste (CCAGW) Congressional Ratings highlight the voting records of all 535 voting members of Congress. The report, which CCAGW has issued since 1989, identifies members whose voting records helped protect taxpayer dollars, as well as those who consistently voted against their interests.

The CCAGW generally follow party lines, with Republicans receiving high marks while Democrats are panned.

Raul Grijalva, a Democrat who represents Goodyear and Buckeye, was ranked as “hostile” by the CCAGW, as was Ruben Gallego, a Democrat who represents Tolleson and part of Glendale.